Posted by: saramcglothlin | October 21, 2012

A 5K, Football, and Saturday Night

Hi! I hope everyone has had a great weekend…I myself had a very busy day yesterday.

It started with a 5K in Williamsburg, VA, where my boss Shane is from.  The “Capolfest 5K” occurs every year in his hometown as a tribute to his best friend who died 3 years ago of esophageal cancer (the only one of his friends who never smoked a cigarette); I definitely jumped on board to show my support.  Plus, I love running 5Ks, especially when they are for a good cause!

The run was held on the beautiful campus of William & Mary.  The weather could not have been better

I finished the 3.1 miles in 26:35, my fastest run ever!  Usually with “races” I just try and pace myself, throwing the competition part out the window, but given as though this was a smaller, community race, everyone was actually trying to win.  I felt as though my lungs were on fire for a good portion, but I ended up beating my boss AND the Griffin

I immediately drove to Charlottesville, VA after the race as I had tickets to the UVA football game that afternoon.  I love the drive to C’ville, especially in the fall

I snacked on a greek yogurt and baby carrots on my way up.

Distracted driving at its best…please don’t do as I do

Before making my way to my friend Lindsay’s house, I had an important errand to run beforehand:

The Great Harvest Bread Co. is the bakery owned by Katheats!  I have been reading her blog for about 3 years…she was one of the first “healthy living” blogs I discovered.  After reading how she needs snack bars in the middle of the night to fuel her through late feedings, I thought Health Warrior Chia Bars would be perfect for her.  I hand-delivered a box myself before making it over to the game.  Unfortunately she wasn’t there, but it was worth the stop.  I was in awe of everything!

Nut butters galore!

Given that it was lunch time, I didn’t leave empty-handed.  I ordered the Curry Tuna Salad sandwich on 9-grain bread.

I had to break into it immediately

It. Was. Amazing.

I then headed to Lindsay’s house where she and her new puppy Rugby were awaiting me

I love puppies.

I also love football!

But I don’t love losing…which we did…again…Oh well, it’s the experience that counts, right?

You would think by this time (given my grandmother ways) that I would call it a day, go home to a quiet night, fix dinner, and go to bed.  Nope, not this time.

I met some of my best friends at Hardywood Brewery for some beers

after which we grabbed some dinner at The Hill Cafe

After an app of some Fried Green Tomatoes, I order two small plates for my meal:

Pan Seared Scallops with applewood smoked bacon buerre blanc

Hummus Duo: Classic garlic and roasted red pepper hummus with crudité and warm pita points

 

It was a fun day but bedtime came early for me around 9:30 PM.  I guess my grandmother ways are still around.

Hope you had a great weekend as well!


Responses

  1. Loved your blog about Williamsburg and C’ville!!!

    Mom


Leave a comment

Categories