Posted by: saramcglothlin | July 15, 2012

CrossFit Class #1: Yes, I Really Had to Push Myself

Wow, the weekend really got away from me!  I really haven’t been doing much for me to share, but today has been all the more eventful.  I am so glad I get to write about my first CrossFit class!

The only other time I went to CrossFit Full Circle was merely to get registered and introduced to the space and instructors.  There was no workout involved, which is why I couldn’t wait to get back and get my hands dirty.  The class was at 10:00 AM, but I set my alarm for 8 this morning.  Usually, my body wakes me up anywhere from 7:00 – 8:00 naturally (especially when I go to bed at 10:00 PM on a Saturday night-yep, that’s right), but last week was super busy, working me to the bone, and I was dead tired.  I’m glad I did, because when that alarm went off, I probably could have slept till 10:00.

I fixed myself a hearty, protein-packed breakfast for some fuel:

Blackberry-Banana Flax Protein Pancake

  • 2 egg whites
  • 1 scoop brown rice protein powder
  • 1/2 mashed banana
  • 1 T flax
  • 2 T soy milk
  • cinnamon
  • blackberries
  • almond/walnut butter blob, sliced banana on top

Never fails.  This breakfast powered me through CrossFit +a shopping trip thereafter.  I swear protein pancakes have been life-changing!

*I’ve been making them each morning right before work.  It is very time-consuming, but worth it to me.  Does anyone know how to speed up the process? I have thought about making the batter the night before, but I am unsure how it would hold up/turn out in the fridge overnight…

I went to CrossFit solo today; my good friend Kate and her boyfriend Will signed up with me, but it turns out they were in D.C. this weekend.  I wish she had been there, but it was OK because the actual workouts are done on an individual basis.  Plus, I would’ve gotten very competitive I think and she probably would have kicked my butt.

This just happens to be the temporary space.  They are moving to a similar space right next door, which I believe will be a bit more “polished.”

I’m starting out by taking the Fundamental classes.  Because I am new to CrossFit, they recommend starting with Fundamentals 1-5 in order to learn the movements, workouts, and crossfit culture in general.  Although it is not required, I want to get as much instruction as possible before jumping into the WODs.

If you can’t read that (sorry), “Mobility, Hollow/Arch, Strict Press 5 5 5, Running Mechanics” are all listed at the top on the right hand side.  This summed up the instruction portion of the class.  The Strict Press (lifting a dumb bell overhead) was going to be part of our workout, so I am glad I was able to learn the exercise beforehand.

The actual workout involved running 400m and doing 10 reps of the strict press (which is one round) “AMRAP” (as many rounds as possible) for 15 minutes.  While it might not sound too difficult, it was!  I was sweating up a storm by the end, and I had to really pushed myself.  I didn’t have a goal initially, but as I got through the first couple of rounds, I strived for 4 total.  If you can see by my name, it shows 4 tallies and a + sign.  As the clock was ticking back from 45 seconds, I had completed 4.  Then my instructor yells, “Are you going to sit and watch the clock run, or are you going to run yourself until the end?!”  I don’t think there was a right answer to that question, but I’m pretty sure the latter was the way to go.  Hence the ‘+’ (I would’ve done it anyway!)

I actually had so much fun and was glowing at the end-in more ways than one!

Afterwards, I headed to the mall to get a dress for a wedding next weekend, but the store didn’t open until noon, so I killed some time in Dick’s Sporting Goods.  I did need some new running socks, but trips to those kind of stores never allow you to walk out with just socks.  No, I had to get a new outfit for barre class.  So many women in my class have the cutest ensembles, that I just want to fit in!  Although many sport lululemon attire, I couldn’t find the brand anywhere.  I think I did alright though:

I finally sat down for lunch at 1:30 PM, and had a refreshing meal

Green salad with kale, red cabbage, spinach, grilled chicken, 1/2 avocado; sliced apple

I also made my own dressing:

  • EVOO
  • balsamic
  • lemon juice
  • whole grain mustard

Not very original, but I step up from my usual O&V.

I’m going to go put on my new “outfit” and head to barre.  See you later!


Responses

  1. http://www.momcentral.com/fun-events !!! What looks good/doable to you? So jealous you’re doing crossfit!

  2. http://www.momcentral.com/fun-events !!! Let me know what looks good/doable to you!

  3. http://www.momcentral.com/fun-events ! Let me know what looks good/doable to you!

  4. Have you tried making a big batch of pancakes and freezing them? Then you could just pop them in the toaster or oven in the morning. 🙂

    • Good idea! I will definitely try that

  5. […] My first CrossFit class […]

  6. […] my first crossfit class, we were taught about pose running.  After having read Born to Run, it sounded a little familiar, […]


Leave a comment

Categories